A Night At The Theatre: Once In The West End…

Yesterday, I knocked off one of the items of my London To-Do List: “See a show on the West End”…And what an affair it was…

Well, considering that I was going out to the theatre–neigh, to the West End, one of (if not the) great theatre districts in the world, I decided to dress up appropriately for such an appropriate occasion…

Image

Before departing for the theatre, me and Micaela went to this little joint down the street called The Legal Café, where I had falafel and Earl Grey tea for the first time–both delicious, :-)…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then we headed to the Phoenix Theatre, where the show, Once, was being performed (note the double meaning in my title)…

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The show itself was very good…For those of you who don’t know what it’s about, Once is based off this 2006 Irish indie musical film (which, btw, won the Oscar for Best Original Song) about an unnamed (he’s billed as “Guy”) 30-something guy from Dublin who works part-time as a busker (street performer) when he’s not at his day job as an assistant in his Dad’s vacuum repair shop, struggling with his recent break-up with his girlfriend…One day, he meets “Girl”, a young mother who’s an immigrant from the Czech Republic, and she admires his music and wants her Hoover fixed…Over the next few days, they spend time with each other, creating music and connecting with each other in a whole different way…Once killed it at the Tonys last year, winning 8–including the all-important “Best Musical”…Hopefully, I can catch it again on tour…

My favorite song from both movie and stage show…

But this wasn’t the only exciting occurrence that night…In case you’ve been under a rock, Kate Middleton had her baby yesterday, and after the show, me and Micaela went to Buckingham Palace to try to see the announcement–but alas, with the great swarms of people, we couldn’t get anywhere near it (I mean, we had to get back home before the Tube closed)…

Image

See what I mean???…

Hey, was anyone else there at Buckingham Palace last night???…Has anyone else seen any good shows lately???…

3 thoughts on “A Night At The Theatre: Once In The West End…

  1. Pingback: If I Could Turn Back Time: My Top 5 Do-Over Destinations… | The Pumpkin's Head

Leave a comment